Zach – For The Birds

About the Book

For this second edition (2015) Dr. Zach updated her For the Birds book, which was originally published in 2005.

The book is an intuitive and interactive way to learn how to read music by combining music notation with biographies of twenty-five internationally known women composers from four thousand years ago to the present. The first of a multi-volume set. The biographies of the following women composers are included in this volume: Enheduanna, Kassia, Hildegard von Bingen, Maddalena Casulana, Francesca Caccini, Elizabeth Jacquet de la Guerre, Anna Amalia, Theresia von Paradis, Agata Szymanowska, Clara Schumann, Lili Oukalani, Agathe Backer Grondahl, Chiquinha Gonzaga, Teresa Carreno, Dame Ethel Smyth, Amy Beach, Nadia Boulanger, Florence Price, Jean Coulthard, Peggy Glanville Hicks, Marian McPartland, Erzsebet Szonyi, Sofia Gubaidulina, Kikuko Masumoto, and Anoushka Shankar. Several quiz pages with answers and a bibliography are included.

Buy the Book


You can also order directly from Amazon at the normal retail price.

Product Details

Paperback: 76 pages
Publisher: Culicidae Press, LLC; 2 edition (July 13, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1941892108
ISBN-13: 978-1941892107
Product Dimensions: 8.5 x 0.2 x 11 inches

About the Author

zachMiriam Zach holds degrees from Northwestern University, the University of Chicago, and the University of Florida. When she is not working on books about women composers (she is the founder and director of the International Women Composers Library). Dr. Zach is currently the Charles and Mary Sukup Endowed Artist in Organ in Iowa State University’s Department of Music and Theatre where she teaches pipe organ, harpsichord, as well as honors courses on music & health and seminars on music and architecture. She also maintains her own private music studio where she teaches piano, harpsichord, and pipe organ.

Dr. Zach recently published a pamphlet book about the latest acquisition for the International Women Composers Library, a four-rank one-manual portable prototype pipe organ, Opus 28, aka Emily, designed and built by the premier organ builder A. David Moore who is based in Pomfret, Vermont. For more information about her work go to


On Key

Related Posts

Barclay – Betrayals and Lies

About the Book Betrayals and Lies: My Parents Were Spies is the intriguing, thrilling, and as-it-happened story of Jim and Alexis Barclay, who found themselves

Osterberg – Access for Everyone

Forthcoming Spring 2024 About the Book The 4th Edition of Access for Everyone includes more than 200 inclusive design recommendations that make spaces safer and

MNM cover

Brantley – My Natural Methodism

Available now worldwide. My Natural Methodism, by Richard E. Brantley: A Description My Natural Methodism, reflecting on a lifetime’s participation in Anglo-American studies, integrates memoir